Unrequited Creativity

I’ve been packing for the past couple days, readying myself for a 6 week creative sabbatical in the wilderness of northern Canada. Now that I’ve hired a salesperson for my web business I can handle most of the work remotely, so I’ll be spending the weeks where there’s a wireless connection, and the weekends pretty far away from any wireless connection. Spring is amazing in the North. The deciduous trees seem to explode with foliage almost overnight in May. It’s literally as if the Knight of Pentacles rides through in one week, and the poplars go from bare to flush with his passage.

I’m looking forward to the trip. It recharges the batteries to get away from the hustle of Hollywood life and onto the edge of the wilderness.

I packed all my sketchbooks and my tablet already. That was a mistake. The creative urge has a schedule of its own, and it took hold tonight.  I’m almost to the point of tearing off chunks of wallpaper and burning a stick from the front yard do do a charcoal sketch.

Ah well. The pent up energy will be well put to use when I get off the plane.

~j*

~ by Jonathan Pierce on April 8, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
