Working with Flashing Colors

Flashing colors have a powerful psychological effect.

I’ve been working on the last repaint, and, no, I’m not going to tell you which card it is. (Suffice it to say it is Major Arcana.) I’m really excited about it because the colors not only flash, they REALLY FLASH. So much so that it has taken me two days to do what normally takes about eight hours.

At first I was really excited about the effectiveness of the flash, then the effects set in. First visual aberrations, the inability to focus and weird little glitches in the peripheral vision. Next emotional reactions, mainly irritibility. Finally the physical effects set in: minor disorientation, followed by vertigo, and then the most loved by all, nausea.

When my body is ready to pitch out a puddle of cheezy-poofs mixed with a half a glass of merlot on the floor I usually decide to take a break.

And I’m still excited about the colours.

~ by Jonathan Pierce on August 11, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
